Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Class Balancing: It's our fault too! 
Forum Admin

Post Class Balancing: It's our fault too!
From reading everything over the past few months and watching what people have been saying about mythic and how they hit everyone with the nerf bat and then the buff bat at seemingly random times, what I've realized is that the times are not random at all...and most of the issues that exist in class balancing are as much our fault from our own expectations of what Mythic's descriptions mean (and RAs) than anything else.

I started playing DAoC about a week after it came out and I realized one very important thing that really made me latch onto this game when I'd lost interest in other MMORPGs: Mythic really seemed to LISTEN to their customers. They would hear our suggestions, Their reps (including Sanya) would frequent the popular VN boards and read what the users were saying, they encourage as much feedback on every issue of the game they can possibly get. Coming over from a game like Everquest which was run by the zombie-like presence of Verant, I was thrilled to finally be playing a game in a world run by a staff that really listened to the customers....

and we were making good suggestions!!!

So what happened? As the player-base grew, the overall "quality" of the average player decreased. This is not a slap to anyone who started playing the game later, all I'm saying is that when the game first came out, it was mostly the hard-core MMORPG crowd that was itching to try the latest dose of our chosen drug. As time wore on, casual gamers and those who had never played and MMORPG (and would find that they were perhaps not as good at them as they might have hoped) joined the fray and the general "quality" of the players decreased.