Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Windows help 
Author Message
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Windows help
Does microsoft sell a version that isn't a full install cause i went to walmart to buy vista and the box said upgrade on both the home and premium editions ($100 and $130)? My question now is are those only upgrades or the full windows on it? The boxes never said anywhere on them that there isn't a full install. But the Upgrade said you can upgrade all these different versions to vista premium SP1. And I didn't buy it cause if I ever need a reformat that disk wont work if it doesn't come with the full version of windows. PLZ HELP!! :P

*edit* Also does vista 32bit allow for more then 3 gigs of ram? :P cause ive got 4 :P and would like all 4 to show up.

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:20 am
Profile YIM
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
Looks like it is just an upgrade not the full install good thing I didn't buy it.

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:27 am
Profile YIM
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
Also are there any benifits for vista over 7 or xp? Guess I should rephrase this. What version of windows should I buy XP, Vista, or 7.

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:31 am
Profile YIM
BbB God
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 11:26 am
Posts: 4803
Location: Minnesota
Post Re: Windows help
32 bit OS will not be able to use more than 4 gb of ram, that is including your video card ram. So most vid cards have 512, your ram would be able to go up to 3.5 gb max. If you put 4 gb sticks in, 512 of it will be not used. Don't listen to anyone else if they tell you differently, they are wrong. Vista 64 bit will allow you to go higher than 4 GB.

You can't buy XP anymore, so the question would be vista or 7 and I would just wait for 7 myself. You technically can still buy XP, if you know someone like me that can still get it, but you won't see it on any shelves anywhere.

_________________
Lodi
Guild Leader
Brotherhood by Blood


Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:40 am
Profile
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
K so preorder 7 from microsoft I can do that :P If i buy the full install can I still upgrade my xp without reformating? Also will windows 7 allow for more then 4 gigs? Says that windows 7 full install comes with both 32 bit and 64bit what should I run it in if i get windows 7 i have 64bit processor so....

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:47 am
Profile YIM
Forum Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 3:35 am
Posts: 5233
Location: San Jose, CA
Post Re: Windows help
You will need to run the 64-bit version of Windows 7 when you get it to be able to address all of your RAM.

As Lodi said, definitely skip Vista. You *should* be able to upgrade without formatting--but I frankly wouldn't recommend it.

_________________
Nalthien
Currently playing: Guild Wars 2 - Nelthian, Warrior
BbB Officer in DAoC, WoW, WAR, Aion, Rift, SWTOR, and GW2


Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:16 am
Profile WWW
BbB God
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 11:26 am
Posts: 4803
Location: Minnesota
Post Re: Windows help
Quote:
K so preorder 7 from microsoft I can do that :P If i buy the full install can I still upgrade my xp without reformating?


To be honest, I am not 100% sure, but I'm leaning towards having to do a clean install from xp to 7.

As far as the 32 vs 64 bit OS, I HATE 64 bit OS..

BUT, I have really only dealt much with XP and Server 2003 64 bit, not much with Vista and none of 7. I can't speak on the Vista or 7 64 and give you a good experienced reply. My initial thought is, it HAS to be better than XP and server 2003 64 bit because it is the way that PCs are all going to be heading soon, PCs need more RAM so I'm assuming they will all be going to 64 bit soon. I just can't speak on how reliable vista or 7 are in 64 bit flavors.

_________________
Lodi
Guild Leader
Brotherhood by Blood


Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:17 am
Profile
BbB God
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 11:26 am
Posts: 4803
Location: Minnesota
Post Re: Windows help
Quote:
You *should* be able to upgrade without formatting--but I frankly wouldn't recommend it.


I'm fairly certain I heard "no" on the xp > 7 upgrade, because I remember saying "WTF is microsoft thinking!" but it coulda been in regards to something else. I tend to say that statement a lot. ;)

_________________
Lodi
Guild Leader
Brotherhood by Blood


Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:18 am
Profile
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
I realized that I can just save all my stuff to dvd and reput it back on my pc :P after a fresh install. FRESH INSTALLS ARE TEH BESTORZ!! :P Also I'm going to sell my xbox360 to do this since i haven't touched my xbox in 1 year. And I've also only found 1 game i am even fond of and it was forza2 other then that nothing appealed to me or when I bought it I hated the game. lol

_________________
Image


Last edited by Powin on Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.



Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:21 am
Profile YIM
BbB God
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 11:26 am
Posts: 4803
Location: Minnesota
Post Re: Windows help
yes< even if it will upgrade, i suggest same as nalty. wipe it!

_________________
Lodi
Guild Leader
Brotherhood by Blood


Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:22 am
Profile
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
Nalty is 64bit hard to operate in vista not sure who has tested the beta with 64bit on 7. I'm still learning software stuff. Hardware is no problem for me for the most part. But I have to ask alot of questions with software lol.

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:24 am
Profile YIM
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 5052
Location: Kansas City, MO
Post Re: Windows help
with 64 bit version of windows one of the main things you have to worry about is non-64bit applications.

I think windows 7 will probably do a pretty good job at doing 64 bit, most places are getting on the 64 bit bandwagon.

_________________
“Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that none of it has tried to contact us.”
Geeks Win Cools Stuff That Geeks Want
Collection of Funny images For the Lols
NASA Space Photos for the Wows
My Personal C# .NET Developer Blog


Tue Aug 11, 2009 7:59 am
Profile YIM WWW
Forum Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 3:35 am
Posts: 5233
Location: San Jose, CA
Post Re: Windows help
My HTPC runs Vista-64 right now and it works fine with 32-bit applications (at least, the ones I've put on there). I can't wait to get that thing upgraded to windows 7 honestly. Or OS X if Apple will add blu-ray support.

_________________
Nalthien
Currently playing: Guild Wars 2 - Nelthian, Warrior
BbB Officer in DAoC, WoW, WAR, Aion, Rift, SWTOR, and GW2


Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:41 am
Profile WWW
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
So my windows is fucking up worse now. Which is the whole reason I'm upgrading anyone know where I can find vista 64bit?

*edit* i found a 32bit vista home premium for $219 on amazon(shows it as the full not upgrade) but on the windows site it is $239 with a free windows 7 upgrade when it releases.

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:03 am
Profile YIM
BbB War

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:30 pm
Posts: 75
Post Re: Windows help
I am currently using the Vista 7 64bit, and have had very few problems. Most problems i have had, the OS eventually figured out the correct compatibility mode to use, and the software has worked. This worst problem I had was with my keyboard software, they only had Vista 64bit drivers to use, and the driver install program was having an issue not wanting to install, but eventually it worked with minimal input from me.

I was unable to upgrade my vista 32 bit version due to going from 32 to 64, I ended up doing a dual boot to my second HD at the time because it was not an official release version and I was just trying it out. But i actually haven't had a reason to go back to my Vista boot in about 3 months now. When 7 officially comes out i will wipe my primary HD and do a clean install again.

Anyone know if you can still download the Win7 Release candidate? you may try that if you can still get it.

_________________
___________________________

Tilburn - Mesmer

retired
Vannis - Sith Assassin (SWTOR)
Vannis - Magus (WAR)
Dumpy - Shaman (WAR)


Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:30 am
Profile
BbB War

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:30 pm
Posts: 75
Post Re: Windows help
Here is my own answer.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/get/download.aspx

they say until August 20th you can get the download.

_________________
___________________________

Tilburn - Mesmer

retired
Vannis - Sith Assassin (SWTOR)
Vannis - Magus (WAR)
Dumpy - Shaman (WAR)


Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:33 am
Profile
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
Ya i think ill just wait and get the full windows 7 instead of buying vista. That way i can full install windows 7. Ill just preorder and deal with my messed up windows till then lol.

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:56 am
Profile YIM
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 5052
Location: Kansas City, MO
Post Re: Windows help
Powin wrote:
Ya i think ill just wait and get the full windows 7 instead of buying vista. That way i can full install windows 7. Ill just preorder and deal with my messed up windows till then lol.


Get the release candidate of windows 7 if you are having so many problems.

It doesn't cost anything and you can use it till March of 2010 if you need to.

_________________
“Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that none of it has tried to contact us.”
Geeks Win Cools Stuff That Geeks Want
Collection of Funny images For the Lols
NASA Space Photos for the Wows
My Personal C# .NET Developer Blog


Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:27 pm
Profile YIM WWW
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
Unkowen wrote:
Powin wrote:
Ya i think ill just wait and get the full windows 7 instead of buying vista. That way i can full install windows 7. Ill just preorder and deal with my messed up windows till then lol.


Get the release candidate of windows 7 if you are having so many problems.

It doesn't cost anything and you can use it till March of 2010 if you need to.

But I need to be able to burn it to a disk don't I? Which I cant which I made in another post. sadly *sigh*


*edit*Thank god my moms laptop has a dvd burner :P

*edit2* Sorry I've just had a bad morning with all this and being tired doesn't help lol.

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 1:47 pm
Profile YIM
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
Is it possible to install windows without a partition cause when i went to make a dual boot partition it said my hard drive was unallocated. So im thinking ok ill just create one as soon as i did that my computer gave me the blue screen of death and now says i have no windows *SIGH*. Hope this windows 7 rc works out for meh! :P wish me luck peeps.

PS thanks for all the help you all make me feel better!!!! By helping me.

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:32 pm
Profile YIM
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
can i install windows 7 rc as the primary os with no other operating system? Also everytime i burn this iso file at 99%says some crap about can't do some length file or some crap then ejects the cd so far the cd is installing though.

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:55 pm
Profile YIM
BbB Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 4:28 am
Posts: 1520
Location: tulsa oklahoma
Post Re: Windows help
YAY windows 7 is up and running just reinstalling the games and whatnot *sigh*

_________________
Image


Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:38 pm
Profile YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 22 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.